#nanowrimo Post-Draft Exhaustion

I’m totally exhausted this week. I just finished NaNoWriMo with 50,000+ words of the draft of my newest novel. In fact it took a day or two to recuperate before even writing this blog post. But even exhausted I can’t stay away from writing for very long. I’m a word junkie!

It’s not just physical exhaustion from all the late nights. I’m mentally exhausted – the kind of exhaustion that comes from being on the other side of an adrenaline rush experience. There’s a period of withdrawal from being in that flow of creating, of accomplishing something amazing, of doing the seemingly impossible. Athletes, firemen, artists, salesman after a huge sale, stuntmen, all experience some type of this post-rush exhaustion.

So, I’ll take a few days to rest and re-energize by drafting my next story and reading a few books off my TBR pile. Then back to writing!

 

Leave a Reply

