The Martian by Andy Weir

41yZWcEnKqL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_I know I say this a lot, but I think this book is one of my favorites this year! I love The Martian by Andy Weir. He makes science fun, interesting and funny. Hilarious, actually. Do NOT try to read this book on your break if you work in cubicle city. I think my cube mates are secretly planning on calling the funny farm on me after hearing me laugh and snort my way through this book.

The main character, Mark Watney is a modern day MacGyver on Mars. His upbeat and irreverent attitude partnered with his often detailed journaling of his adventures makes for an extremely entertaining story. I love all the details and explanations of how and why Mark did things. There are so many scenes that are my favorite, but I think Mark’s interaction with JPL command is hands down the best dialogue ever. Like on page 129 in the paperback edition where JPL command tries to remind Mark that the whole world is watching their interactions. His reaction is priceless. I think being stranded on Mars by oneself justifies his irreverent wisecracks. This is a must-read book!

By writingheatherlee Posted in Books

Leave a Reply

